Sejong City is located in the central inner area of Chungcheongnam-do, and stretches south-north. Consequently, from ancient times, the current city areas were divided by the Charyeong Mountains and the Geumgang River into parts of Jeoneui, Yeongi, and Geumnam. However, with the recent road construction, those areas were combined into one.


  • Currently the city has one town(eup), 9 townships(myeon) and 14 administrative neighborhoods(dong). It borders Cheongju-si, Chungcheongbuk-do to the east, Gongju-si, Chungcheongnam-do to the west, Daejeon Metropolitan City to the south, and Cheonan-si to the north.
  • July 1, 2012 Sejong City was launched.
    • Previous area of Yeongi-gun, Chungcheongnam-do
    • Previous areas of Taesan-ri, Yongam-ri, Songhak-ri, Yonghyeon-ri, and songjeong-ri, Euidang-myeon, Gongju-si; Songmu-ri, Pyeonggi-ri, Daegyo-ri, Habong-ri, Dogyae-ri, Bongan-ri, Jecheon-ri, Eunyong-ri, Sanhak-ri, Dangam-ri, and Geumam-ri, Janggi-myeon, Gongju-si; Wonbong-ri, Donam-ri, Seonggang-ri, Gukgok-ri, and Bongam-ri, Banpo-myeon, Gongju-si
    • Previous areas of Sansu-ri, Haengsan-ri, Galsan-ri, Bugang-ri, Mungok-ri, Geumho-ri, Deunggok-ri, and Noho-ri, Buyong-myeon, Cheongwon-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do
  • Jun. 30, 2012 Abolition of Yeongi-gun, Chungcheongnam-do.
  • Dec. 27, 2010 Proclamation of the Special Act on Establishment of Sejong City, etc. (Law NO. 10419)
  • Dec. 21, 2006 The name, 'Sejong City' meaning ‘happy city’ was decided upon.
  • May. 18, 2005 Enactment and proclamation of the Special Act to Found Administration-Centered Complex City.


  • Feb. 28, 1995 Galsan 1, 2-ri, Dong-myeon was annexed to Buyong-myeon, Cheongwon-gun; Simjung 1, 2-ri, Gangwe-myeon was annexed to Jeondong-myeon on March 1.
  • Jan. 1, 1995 Sojeong-myeon was newly established, according to the Law on Change of Jurisdiction between Cities or Provinces, NO. 4,802.
  • Nov. 28, 1994 Eungam 1, 2, 3-ri were annexed to Eungam 1, 2, 3, 4-ri, 11 ris of Godeung 1, 2-ri were annexed.
  • Dec. 18, 1993 Won-ri, Jochiwon-eup was adjusted to Won 1, 2-ri Chimsan-ri to Chimsan 1, 2-ri Sinan 1, 2-ri to Sinan 1, 2, 3-ri.
  • Jan. 20, 1992 96 administrative units were fixed by adjusting Yeongdang 1, 2-ri, Jeoni-myeon to Yeongdang-ri.
  • July 20, 1990 197 administrative units were fixed.


  • May 1, 1988 Administrative units were adjusted as 191 ris by renaming 19 dongs of Jochiwon-eup as ris. The administrative division of ri is based on the concept of natural villages for administrative efficiency and residents' convenience.
  • July 1, 1987 Bongam 1, 2-ri, Wachon 1, 2, 3-ri, and Wolha 3-ri, Budong-ri, Seo-myeon, were annexed as the jurisdiction of the Seo-myeon Bongam chuljangso.
  • July 1, 1987 Built local office for Yeongi-gun eup/myeon and enacted local government act #10.
  • Jan. 1, 1986 According to Presidential Order NO. 12007 (proclaimed on Dec. 23, 1986), Sinbang-ri, Yeongdang-ri, Yanggok-ri, Daljeon-ri, Geumsa-ri, and Dabang-ri were annexed to Jeoni-myeon.
  • Oct. 3, 1986 Establishment of Article 10 of the Local Autonomy Law and Yeongi-gun eup-myeon chuljangso.


  • July 1, 1973 According to the change of administrative districts by Presidential Order NO. 6542, Doam-ri, Seongdeok-ri, Yeonggok-ri, Banpo-myeon, Gongju-gun were annexed to Nam-myeon; Naseong-ri, and Songwon-ri, Janggi-myeon to Nam-myeon. The county was composed of 1 eup, 6 myeon, and 106 dong and ri.
  • July 1940 Sindong, Nechang, Beonam, and Dongri, Seo-myeon were annexed to Jochiwon-eup.
  • April 1931 According to the revision of the myeon system, Jochiwon-eup was newly established. and Jochiwon-eup came to administer 1 eup, 6 myeons, and 101 dongs and ris.
  • 1920 According to the revision of the myeon system, part of Buk-myeon was annexed to Jochiwon-myeon, and part of the rest to Seo-myeon. And Jochiwon-myeon was chosen as the designated myeon.
  • 1911 County headquarters was moved from Yeongi-ri, old eup site, to Jochiwon. According to cancellation and annexation of gun and myeon in 1909, all the 7 myeons of Jeoni-gun, 28 ris of Gongju-gun, 26 ris of Yangari-myeon, 20 ris of Banpo-myeon, 5 ris of sodong-myeon, Cheonan-gun, part of Sindaljeon and Sindong-ri, Gujeuk-myeon, Hwedeok-gun, and 4 ris, Ilha-myeon, cheongwon-gun, Chungbuk-do were all annexed, and the county had 7 myeons: dong, Seo, Nam, Buk, Geumnam, Jeoni, and jeondong.


  • 1895 (the 32nd year of King Gojong) Revision of local administration system led to the birth of gun, and the head of gun came to be called gunsu (or mayor).
  • 1685 It recovered the status, and came to be called Yeongi-hyeon.
  • 1680 (the 6th year of King Sukjong) Owing to the treason of Eupinmanseol, the county was annexed to Muni.


  • 1416 (the 16th year of King Taejong) Each was returned to old status.
  • 1414 (the 14th year of King Taejong) Yeongi-hyeon was annexed to jeongi-hyeon.
  • 1406 (the 6th year of King Taejong) Gammu was appointed also in Yeongi.
  • 1413 (the 13th year of King Taejong) Gammu was changed to hyeongam.
  • 1385 (the 4th year of King Taejo) Gammu was appointed in Jeoni
  • 1172 (the 2nd year of King Myeongjong) Gammu was separately appointed, but, again, mokjugammu took charge of it.
  • 1018 (the 9th year of King Hyeonjong) Along with Yeongi-hyeon, it was annexed to Cheongju-si.

Three Kingdoms Era ~

  • Goreyo Dynasty It was changed to Jeoni-hyeon.
  • Unified Silla The Jeoni area was hyeon belonging to Daerok-gun, and was called Geumji; Yeongi-hyeon belonged to Yeonsan-gun.
  • Three Kingdoms Era It belonged to Baekje. The Jeoni area belonged to Guji-hyeon, Daemokak-gun; The Yeongi area belonged to Duingji-hyeon, Ilmosan-gun; The Geumnam area was part of woongjin.